RSS

YOUTUBE BLOCKING! (Bluh Bluh, Huge Pain)

20 Jan

After the two recent episodes being blocked in the US Only, I’ve debating on whether to file a dispute against this. It’s annoying that it’s only done it to the two most recent episodes, and not any of the older ones using music from this soundtrack, as far as I can tell.

Furthermore, if it were blocking it in other countries, I could understand it doing this…

But just the one? :/ Namely, THIS one country- that I live in.

EDIT:

Youtube’s Dispute forum is simply a multiple choice forum with no way for me to ASK questions about WHY it was blocked. Which is frustrating to no end because I simply wanted to ask WHY my videos were being blocked, not to actual file any dispute about it.

So, I turned to google, and done some research on this.

According to what I’ve found, the source of my problems lie with Youtube “Red”- their new subscription service that they launched a few months back. Namely, certain soundtrack holders (Victor Entertainment and U/M/A/A Inc.) for certain Anime (the GunXSword soundtrack being one of them) aren’t sure how Youtube Red is going to handle something or other (large money blah blah) and thus, those soundtracks are presently blocked in the USA *ONLY* because that is where Youtube Red ONLY EXISTS.

Except, here’s the thing. I DON’T USE YOUTUBE RED.

I shouldn’t be running into this problem. I don’t make money off my videos, I don’t use the subscription service. WHY are my videos being blocked for something I’m not using?

This is where the dispute claim forum is angering me because I CANNOT TELL YOUTUBE THIS. Hell, they even removed the button that let me tell them that I was OKAY with a copyright situation in the first place!

My only hope for now is to wait for these soundtrack holders to let up on the USA Block.

In the mean time, I’m going to have to avoid certain soundtracks like the plague from now on. SIGH. frigginstupiddumbsubscriptionservicesruiningitforeveryone

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2016 in OOC

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “YOUTUBE BLOCKING! (Bluh Bluh, Huge Pain)

  1. Pyrelle

    January 20, 2016 at 11:32 pm

    youtube has been crap about this stuff…sorry you’re going through it.

     
    • calumtravler

      January 21, 2016 at 12:02 am

      At least this happened on two minor episodes that didn’t really push the main story plot further along, or else I’d be a bit more mad about it.
      Still, I’m going to have to double check the soundtracks used in the upcoming episodes to make sure that I don’t have anything from GunXSword in it. I’m definitely avoiding anything else Anime until I can figure out what’s safe to use or not.

       

Leave a Reply

 
