RSS

VICTORY!

28 Apr

Steam Removes Paid Mods!

We understand our own game’s communities pretty well, but stepping into an established, years old modding community in Skyrim was probably not the right place to start iterating. We think this made us miss the mark pretty badly, even though we believe there’s a useful feature somewhere here.

Bold is my emphasis.

So what does this mean?

For Dovah’s Mind… *SIGH* Now I’m just waiting on my voice to get to a point! I’ll be doing one episode this week, but I think next week I’ll be moving along back to the M/W/F schedule.

For Steam Workshop, I think the best option they can add instead is a Donate Button, or a Commission Author feature.  One of my friends isn’t happy about this at all, though. :/

Sigh. To all the people who feel this way, I just have to say that the way that this whole situation unfolded was a complete mess. Valve and Bethesda first and foremost unleashed this without giving the masses time to react beforehand. It was dropped into our laps like a hot apple pie that someone had already taken the opportunity to dig a trench in before hand with their fingers. What were we supposed to do but yell and flail to the sudden action and rage against the person/people who had done the trench digging as well as the dropping?

Paid Modding CAN have it’s pros to match the cons, as my angered friend has mentioned to me, however the real issue that happened was basically… It was a new system being forced into a world that had already achieved equilibrium with itself. It caused an imbalance. Had any of this paid modding featuring been introduced with- say- Fallout 4 or Elder Scrolls 6? The reaction would have been much less severe. It would have been something new introduced with something new.

We can sort of look at this like Skyrim Modding itself. What essentially happened here was a Mod Conflict. We installed a Mod that appeared to look like it would work with an existing mod, but it changed the internal structure of the game, that was ALREADY being changed by another mod. So, we had to remove one mod or another, to choose what version of the game we wanted to run. Some people chose to remove the old file, and in the case of the majority here, removed the new file that caused the conflict.

It’s a sad thing, but it happens when co-operation fails to occur. Now, we can either work to re-build the new mod to work alongside the old mod, or we can make something newer that the conflicting mod DOES work with. *Shrugs*

Just a half-thrown together analogy, really, but it kinda works for the situation.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 28, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “VICTORY!

  1. Pyrelle

    April 28, 2015 at 3:56 am

    This whole thing was not very well thought out on Valve or Bethesdas part. I should have done some blog posts about this myself but I found between you and a few others everything was pretty much said already. Paying for mods isn’t a bad idea, the execution was shit. It would have been so much better if instead of the minimum price for a mod being something like 25 cents it was 0 I think things would not have gotten out right raged against. But 0 was never an option. And don’t get me started on this crap of Valve and Bethesda getting 75% of the money and the author only getting 25% and only after it makes what was it 400 dollars?

    Like I said this whole thing was very ill conceived and the execution was even worse. I am glad it only took them what 3 days to figure out they had failed and listened to the customers.

    As for future games like fallout 4 and TES 6 I can only say if they try to force me to buy mods I will probably not even buy the game.

     
    • calumtravler

      April 28, 2015 at 6:41 pm

      *agrees on that last note* If they did do paid mods for TES6, I very likely won’t buy it either. Hell, as it stands, even if they don’t I’m very likely not to buy it regardless. *shrugs*

       

Leave a Reply

 
