RSS

[ooc] C0DA?

18 Feb

Someone tried to ‘win’ an ‘argument’ (that was really more of a civil discussion?) with me by citing this ‘C0DA’ thing…

So I looked it up…and I couldn’t even find a single reference to anything Elder Scrolls in it at all beyond using the ‘Era’ system.

It’s was never even announced by anyone at Bethesda or Zenimax to my knowledge… Plus, from what I read on a TES wiki…This “C0DA” thing is basically Fan Fiction!

So just for reference, I’m not going to debate with someone about what happens in the TES universe unless the information was written down in any of the games somewhere. If you’re wanting a serious discussion about what happens or speculation on what will happen in the TES ‘verse, that’s fine. Just…don’t go pulling Fanfiction on me as a ‘fact.’ And if I ever so much as *SEE* someone mention “C0DA” as a reason for something happening in the TES verse, I’m just going to dismiss anything they have to say on that subject.

I’m ALL FOR creative writing! But Fan Fiction is Fan Fiction. Even Dovah’s Mind and Calliope’s journal is *fan fiction.* I won’t go citing my own story line of “The Dovahkiin used a Pogo Hammer as his main weapon against the Ash Spawn on Solsthime” in any Historical argument because it’s *My* story, and not the Canon adventures that Bethesda wrote out that all future games will ultimately be based off of. You won’t see me claiming that “Xros Heart fused into Times Twelve to Giga Drill Break Quartzmon in the heart of space!” in any Digimon argument either, because THAT IS ALSO MY STORY. Not the canon adventures.

I won’t accept Fanfiction in a serious discussion unless the discussion in the first place is *ABOUT* the Fanfiction in question. If you’re going to bring Fanfiction into a discussion with me, when we were talking about canon stuff before…. Like I said, I’m just going to dismiss what you have to say because it’s not related to the original topic.

Sorry for the rant, but I felt like I needed to get this off my chest.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 18, 2014 in ESO, OOC, Skyrim

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “[ooc] C0DA?

  1. Pyrelle

    February 18, 2014 at 4:43 am

    Ummm what the hell is C0DA anyway?

     
    • calumtravler

      February 18, 2014 at 8:03 pm

      Basically, the Lore Writer for Morrowind, unaffiliated with Zenimax and Bethesda, is trying to make an “Open Source” lore for The Elder Scrolls universe in the “Ninth Era.” That is “C0DA.” …And from what I can tell, it’s not official in any way. It’s basically the guy saying, “Anything you write for Elder Scrolls is now a canon thing!”

      …Except that’s going to cause a LOT of problems with continuity, and the ES Wiki I read up on it stated that “We’re not going to take anything from C0DA as canon because it’s just going to confuse people.” Adding to the trouble of it is that the main thing he opens it with doesn’t even seem Elder-Scrolls-y at all. All it read as was some weird space exploration thing with a lot of names I didn’t find familiar.

       
      • Pyrelle

        February 18, 2014 at 8:51 pm

        yeah…unless he is working for Bethesda and its official anything he writes doesn’t count. I am with you on that. I can’t fathom someone trying to use something unofficial to win a argument, well, yeah I can it happens in politics all the damn time.

         
      • calumtravler

        February 18, 2014 at 9:01 pm

        Yeah… he then tried to say, “But it’s by this guy! And he did all these sermons!” I held back the remark, “Oh you mean the Sermons from Heimsker that I absolutely hate him for?” and just said that unless it’s part of a game, I’m just going to ignore it.

         
  2. Gorra

    July 10, 2014 at 6:41 am

    The Sermons are Vivec’s Sermons from Morrowind FYI.

    And C0da is referenced both by ZOS and in-game in ESO. I don’t think it was intended by MK as anything more than a possible future though.

    So it’s not “canon” but it offers insight into the world of TES which apparently ZOS approves of.

     
    • calumtravler

      July 10, 2014 at 4:34 pm

      A “Possible Future” that provides additional insight, huh? It’s got mentions in ESO, as in an In-game reference? Now *That* I will accept as “canon” if I read it. That was all I was wanting in the first place, really: An In-Game source of reference to this C0DA thing, which that person I was arguing with failed to cite.

       

Leave a Reply

 
