RSS

Dragon Born

19 Jul

<==

As it turned out, most of the guards, including Irileth, survived to see the little ‘show.’ The guards were whispering among themselves. “Dragonborn.” They approached me, and inquired as to what happened. I truthfully had no clue at the time. But they explained of Nordic legends and rituals and such…

Only a Dragonborn could kill a dragon by absorbing its soul.

Irileth didn’t believe it much, being a Dunmer and not following their beliefs, and I myself found it hard to believe… But the guards insisted that if I truly was a Dragonborn, then I could Shout just like a Dragon. I honestly had no clue what to say, put on the spot like that…But Mirmulnir’s memories of that first word…

“Fus.”

I’d barely even said it. But it was loud enough to cause everyone (Myself included) to stammer backwards from the sudden force that pushed against all of us (Myself from the recoil, the guards from being the ones that I was facing at the time).

It was true. I was something called “Dragonborn.”

Irileth directed me to head back to Whiterun so I could inform the Jarl of the events that had transpired, that dragons could be Killed, and I gladly took my leave.

But looking back on this “dragonborn” business, it’s quite possible that the reason Dragons cannot be killed by anyone but another dragon(born), is that they can rewind time upon death by any normal mortal? My ability was not well known among my village, and those that did know of it were those who were wise beyond their years or a part of my family.

I don’t know if this is true or not…. But it makes sense in context. If I was always destined to be a ‘dragonborn’, then perhaps this ability was always there? If I remember correctly, anyone can learn how to ‘shout’ with practice. (Ulfric was said to ‘know the ways of the voice.’) So my rewind ability may be able to be similarly learned, explaining how others in my village knew it.

Regardless, I must move on. There is still a little bit of this adventure to tell before I am caught up to current.

>Dovahkiin

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 19, 2012 in Calliope, Skyrim

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Dragon Born

  1. Pyrelle

    July 19, 2012 at 2:20 am

    I am enjoying your writting style. I look forward to seeing how the story and Calliope developes. =)

     

Leave a Reply

 
